slow blogging

July 22, 2008

I’ve been following Robert Scoble for almost two years now, since way back when he was the number one blogger on WordPress day after day after day. When he still posted at 10 posts or so a day, I didn’t read everything. When he started doing videos, I didn’t watch them, but I continued reading his posts. Today he wrote a post which I think all bloggers need to read

As I said the other day, I’m working my way through the TED talks. Although all of them are good, I’m not always interested in all of them. I found another one really worth watching. Carl Honoré did this one in 2005, at that stage he was 37 years old. He talks about slowness, about doing things at a slower pace, not a snails pace, but simply at the right pace. The first time I was confronted with the idea of intentional slowness was when Piet Meiring told me about the book Water Buffalo Theology, it was a number of years ago, but I still remember the frase “God moves at the speed of a Water Buffalo, which is about 4 mph”. Since then I’ve wanted to read it… but you’ve guessed it, haven’t had time.

When I started blogging I remember reading that what motivates bloggers is comments and links. I guess this is true, it’s true of me. But Scoble forces some introspection as to how far we will go to get this. Can the drive for comments, links, and then also hits, become so great that we forget why we started blogging? To produce something worthwhile, not to produce something popular. Maybe we need some slow blogging, not the drive to be the first to post on something, not the drive to be another voice in the endless frontal lobb chatter of Web 2.0 on the same thing which everyone is saying (then why am I posting this today with Scoble? or is there a balance we need to find?), but to blog our passions!

At a retreat we had a while ago we did a crash course (another bit of hipocrasy within this post I know) on intense form of journaling, the name of which I cannot remember. I remember then thinking what so many others before me have said: that blogging, for me, is a spiritual excercise… this mean blogging at the right speed, not at a snails pace, but not always blogging as if I’m chasing something, whether it’s comments, links, or another blog…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 778 other followers

