what’s up this term

April 11, 2007

The second term has started. I haven’t really spent time on academics this holiday, so most probably I’ll pay the price, but that’s nothing new.

Some interesting things will be happening this term, and I’ll keep you poster as they happen.

The camp with Brian Mclaren will be from 30 April -2 May. Anyone going? I can’t wait for this! Then Brian will be talking at Universiteitsoord the next evening.

Hopefully our camp with the theological students will be from 4-6 May, I say hopefully, since there is a bit of a mix-up with the arrangements. But that should be sorted out within a few days.

First week en June will be the general synod of the Dutch Reformed Church. I should be going to help with some of the stuff, carrying around mikes and handing out papers etc. But that gives you time to listen to everything. Can’t say I’m very positive about what’s coming, actually, I’m a bit afraid. They’ll be discussing Homosexuality, again, as well as the uniting of the traditionally different racial churches of the Dutch Reformed Church family in South Africa. Both of which have the ability to cause mayor division in our church.

Met with Arthur and Tyler from Nieucommunities tonight, interesting conversation. But I’ll share some more on that tomorrow.

Well, that’s it. I’ll keep you posted.

6 Responses to “what’s up this term”

  1. Kowie Says:

    Hi Cobus,
    Wat is julle bree tokkelok gevoel oor jeugbediening – “jong volwassenes” maw die 22 – 30/35 groep, kan selfs die 16 – 22 groep insluit. Is daar enige blogs of geselswerwe daaroor? Waar hoort hulle – in die gemente of apart – ens.


  2. Hi! My husband and I are moving to PE, South Africa in 14 days. We will be working with Oceans of Mercy; a village for children. I came across your blog and was much encouraged. Thank you for your candid nature. Wow. I look forward to reading more about your journey.

  3. Steve Says:

    Look forward to meeting you at the Brian McLaren meeting!

  4. cobus Says:

    Kristi, hope the move is great. South Africa is a wonderful country, and I really hope you have a great time down here! Thanx for the kind comment, and the link.
    Kowie, I?ll post some thoughts on your question sometime next week. I did the typical student thing and didn?t work at all this holidays, so now I have less than 24 hours to finish up my assignments that need to be in tomorrow. It?s gonna be a loooong night:-)
    Steve, hope to meet you on the 3rd!

  5. Kowie Says:

    Thx, will look out for it – I also have a assignment on Youth Ministry that must be in – lucky only on Monday. Enjoy!


  6. […] theology synchroblog coming up Kowie posted a question to the theological students at TUKS. My question reads: “What is the general feeling of the […]


Leave a Reply

