The Blogging Church – review

April 24, 2007

Just the other night one of my friends looked through some books on my bookshelf, and made a remark about the amount of books with bookmarks in them somewhere roundabout halfway through the book. That’s because many of the books I pick up I only read halfway through. Finishing a book is a big thing for me!

But I finally finished Brian Bailey’s The Blogging Church last night. When first ordering the book I was a bit sceptical about any book being written on blogging. I thought, and maybe still think, that writing a book about blogging is a bit premature at the moment, since I believe we are just experiencing a small taste of blogging, and similar ideas, at the moment. But I think Brian would admit this as well.

All and all I learned quite a lot from this book. Mostly of basic technical stuff, how to do certain stuff on a blog. And many of you might have seen some of the changes I made while reading the book. I also learned something about the blogging culture.

On the church part… well, I don’t know. Bailey come from a mega-church evangelical background, and for the most part writes for a mega-church background. For those sharing this background, I think you will find more of his thoughts significant. For those not sharing this background, you might think a little differently about some of the church-specific ideas surrounding blogging.

Lastly, this is specifically written for people inside congregations, part of the leadership of that congregation, that is blogging. Little time is spend in discussion about those blogging about theology, but not actively part of the leadership of a congregation. Of which I’ve seen many blogs.

2 Responses to “The Blogging Church – review”

  1. Brian Bailey Says:

    Thanks for the feedback and kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed the book.

    Yes, I definitely agree that blogging and the online world is constantly evolving (see the rise of podcasting, then You Tube, and now Twitter). For many people though, a book is still the best way to get comfortable with technology or a change in communication.

    God bless!

  2. cobus Says:

    Thanx for the comment Brian. Guess it will take some time to get used to the idea that what you write can really be read by anyone, especially by the people you know, or those you write about. Hope you find my take on the book justified, feel free to say it if you think I’ve mis-interpreted anything.


Leave a Reply

