Meeting someone from MXit

May 9, 2007

I actually wrote this yesterday (Tuesday), but didn’t have internet access, so couldn’t post it. But, here it is: 

I met with Gavin, a guy working for Mxit, last night. It was a round trip of about 130km from where I live to Sandton and back, which included a couple of wrong turns around Sandton area, but definitely worth the visit. I’m not exactly sure what his work at MXit is, but it sound like he has a big influence on what is going on around there.
Although I always had respect for the trouble the MXit team takes to make MXit a secure Instant Messenger, I now have even more respect. I met with a guy with strong moral conviction, working for a company looking likewise. He told us how they take trouble to protect kids as far as possible form harmful content. Of course, content that gets sent around by kids they can do very little about.
He also told us of some of the interesting developments in MXit coming in the near future, but I’m not going to say anything about that, you’ll have to wait and see. I’ll just say that MXit is becoming so much more than an Instant Messenger, it’s becoming a total Social Networking tool. Keep checking the updates in the next few months.
.But mostly, we talked theology. Yes, I met with one of the MXit programmers, and we talked theology. Or actually, he talked, I listened, to a very very interesting theologian.

One Response to “Meeting someone from MXit”

  1. aventer Says:

    Theology…hmm… Hope you talked at least a little about your Mxit Gallery problem😉


Leave a Reply

