Friday morning – the end

June 9, 2007

This is the last part of synod posts, I typed this yesterday morning, but never got around to publishing it. There might still be some posts on stuff that happened, I’m planning a post on the spiritual warfare discussion, and some hopeful visions for future synods. But for now, this was the end…

I knew that there would be a lot of issues with the gay decision. But I didn’t expect it to come so quickly. But it’s here. I missed the first few minutes of it, but as I’m sitting here, the discussion is on about an official interpretation. Some are seriously asking that we cannot leave this place before an official interpretation is made.

I’m not really sure what happened. What I hear is that Prof Piet Strauss gave his interpretation of things last night on TV, I’m not sure what he said. I also heard that some news channel only said that “The Dutch Reformed Church is now open for gays on the pulpit” (This is NOT what Prof Strauss is saying!!!). On the other hand Neels Jackson from Beeld interpreted this decision very similar to how I interpreted it yesterday.

The 8 points of the decision should be read as a whole. I would have thought this is the absolute basic thing to expect, but OK, as I understand this has now been added to the official decision of the synod.
I think what is also important, is that the decision shouldn’t only be read within the context of all 8 points, but also within the context of the meeting, and the context of the other proposals. This was a middle-way solution. A decision that try to honor the whole church, accept the fact that all of us try to understand the Bible.
One of the moderators said something yesterday which I thought was very very important. Yes, we do differ about some things. But when we differ, we differ in Christ. We don’t differ about who is in and who is out, together we are all in, we are all in Christ, and trying to understand what this mean for our lives.

But it’s over now. So much more happened than anyone can blog about. And yes, there was many things that was frustrating, but, I’ll leave that for another day. But today… today I’m positive. Today I can say proudly that the general synod was a beautiful occasion. It was a spiritual occasion. It was a theological conversation of quality. And it gave me a little bit of hope that my journey in this church might be a little bit more stable than I’ve thought at times. Many of you might here stories about this synod in the coming weeks. Please make sure about them before you pass them on.

Leave a Reply

