my mini-dissertation on wikispaces

May 5, 2008

I’ve been intrigued by the Web 2.0 developments for more than 18 months now, trying to understand it, trying to follow the developments, and trying to see the implications. Most of this has been in blogging, and more and more I realize that I simply do not seem to have time keep up to date with everything happening and changing.

Although I’ve been a huge wikipedia fan, as you will find out if you follow the links I use to, for example, movies, I think I’ve only made one contribution ever, and that was the birth date of Anne Clayborn on the Mars Trilogy page, if I remember correctly. Recently, however, I’ve been introduced to wikispaces by someone in the congregation. We started generating the content for our new church website on wikispaces, and then I set up another wikispace for an alternative camp we are attempting in July.

But my current idea is to actually produce my whole mini-dissertation which need to be written in the next few months on a wikispace. It will be on something like: David Bosch as Public Theologian: the public role of the church in the theology of David Bosch. As I proceed I’ll publish parts I’ve written, and thoughts I have, there, which would provide the opportunity for anyone interested to fine-tune my thoughts through questions, alternative formulations, thoughts I haven’t had yet etc. Obviously in the end I’ll have to publish a final version for which only I can take responsibility, but by then I’ll have the advantage that many people have sharpened my thoughts.

So, if you have interest in the topic, or interest in the idea of producing the dissertation like this, or interest in David Bosch, do follow the wikispace here, you can also sign up for the RSS feed.

What do you think? How would copyright laws and plagiarism rules and everything apply to this? Is this possible? Can I legally do this within a university system? Would anyone even think of actually taking part in the conversation around an others Masters dissertation?

6 Responses to “my mini-dissertation on wikispaces”

  1. Steve Says:

    What is Wikispaces?

    Your link to it didn’t work.

    There shouldn’t be a problem about plagiarism, unless you quote someone verbatim without acknowledgement. I discussed my doctoral thesis with people on e-mail mailing lists etc.

  2. cobus Says:

    It’s a place to create your own “wiki”, similar to a wikipedia page.

    I’ve had this problem a number of times, I insert a link into a post, and after it was published, the link simply refer back to the current post. Anyone else had this problem?

    Wikispaces have a feature in which it tracks every change made to the page or discussion page, in this way I’ll be able to give credit where credit is due.

  3. Steve Says:

    How did you insert the link?

    Did you forget the “http://”?

    That can cause problems.

    How do we find your WikiSpace?

  4. Cobus Says:

    I figured it out when fixing it, that maybe I should add the http://, thanx.

    You can find the link in the second last paragraph, on the ‘here’ link, I’ll make it more prominent when I’m at a computer again.


  5. gotcha rss. looking forward to keeping track. maybe this would be a good way of writing a book for some of us?

  6. Cobus Says:

    I think it could be a great way of writng a book!
    This way the writing process is a conversation as well, rather than another expert writing the ‘final words of wisdom’.
    Maybe someone should experiment with the idea.


Leave a Reply

