Christians on facebook

November 7, 2008

Just came onto a random persons facebook profile (friend of a friend) and her list of groups she has joined caught my eye. A lot of “Christian” groups like: Let’s see how many Christians there is at facebook !!, I bet I can find 1,000,000 Christians, How Wonderful GOD , JESUS , and Holy Spirit is, and I could go on, you’ve seen it. What really caught my eye was ANTI-SKOOL ALLIANSIE (anti-school alliance) and Matt 28:19 -Go and make Disciples!!! standing together. And I wondered, have this person never thought about the fact that being Christian might affect the way I approach something like school? I could mention a couple of other groups she joined which I don’t think I would have joined in good conscience.

Some would point out the fact that opening up your profile on facebook would lead to others being able to make the observations I just did, and thus to “bad witness” or something. Some would say you should close your profile. For me, facebook is a great reminder of how shallow our Christianity has become. And with this I’m not judging the person who’s profile I’ve used, but simply pointing out that the collection of groups people join tend to show that Christianity is only something which affects some private religious part of our lives, and that Christians are still struggling to get to the point where their being Christian affects every aspect of their lives.

Was without internet for about 2 days, but I’m back now.

4 Responses to “Christians on facebook”

  1. Jake Belder Says:

    Cobus, I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, and been enjoying it. I’m glad you pointed out here how living as Christian plays out even in the seemingly insignificant parts of life (such as what Facebook groups we join). I’m sure I used to be the same way when I was less mature, but if we’re going to claim that Jesus Christ is Lord over our life, that has to touch all of life, even the minutest details. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. cobus Says:

    thanx for reading!

  3. Tiaan Says:

    Ek sien vanoggend raak hoe iemand “The biggest Christian group on facebook” gejoin het…seriously, hoe gaan hulle meet? En wat as een van die ander hordes “Jesus”/”Christian”-groepies hulle verby vat? Ek dink soms ek quit hulle almal. Dit maak tog anyway nie regtig ‘n verskil nie, want daai groepies doen nooit iets nie.

  4. Harriet Earle Says:

    Hi,
    I don’t know if you’ll see this – I hope you do – but I wanted to say I am going to quote a part of this in my MA thesis on Facebook Church. I will, of course, give you full credit for your words and will reference this blog.

    Thank you for the inspiration and the brilliant quote!

    Peace,
    Hattie


Leave a Reply

